What is Gluten?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and oats and foods made from
these cereals. A gluten free diet avoids all foods containing wheat, rye, barley
Why a Gluten Free Diet?
There are two separate conditions which are caused by a reaction to gluten.
a) Coeliac condition - gluten causes a reaction which affects the lining of
the small bowel reducing its ability to absorb food.
b) Dermatitis herpeformis - gluten causes a skin reaction
Both conditions respond to a gluten free diet.
List of gluten free manufactured products.
The Coeliac Society publishes a comprehensive list of manufactured products
stated as being gluten free by the manufacturers and are therefore permitted
in you gluten free diet. The list is updated every 18 months MAKE SURE YOUR
LIST IS UP TO DATE.
Reference is made to the list on the diet sheet.
Labels on individual products must always be checked because manufacturers
do frequently change ingredients.
The Coeliac Society was formed in 1968 to promote the welfare of children and
adults who have been medically diagnosed as having Coeliac Condition or Dermatitis
The Society publishes a Coeliac Handbook costs £2.00 and the comprehensive
List of Gluten Free Manufactured Products costs £1.25.
It is strongly advised that you join the Coeliac Society. If you are not on
the mailing list you can join by filling in the application form and send a
The Coeliac Society
PO Box 220
Foods Allowed Freely
Cereals and Breakfast Cereals
Gluten free flour, potato flour, buckwheat, arrowroot, rice, flour, whole and
ground rice, sago, tapioca, Soya flour, cornflour, maize, Cornflakes, Rice Krispies,
Ricicles, baby rice, Farex, gluten free pasta, Crunchy Nut, Coco Pops, Coco
Crispies, Soya and rice bran, gluten free bread, bread mix, biscuits on prescription,
home made gluten free bread, biscuits and cakes using gluten free flour.
Meat, poultry and bacon
Alll fresh, frozen, tinned prepacked plain meats if cooked with gluten, i.e.
liver, bacon, home-made burgers.
All gravy, sauces, stews made with gluten free flour and ingredients.
All fresh, cured, smoked fish, shellfish, fish tinned in oil, plain frozen
fish - without batter or breadcrumbs or sauces.
Milk, cheese and eggs
All types of milk, cream, yoghurt (except muesli yoghurt), cheeses, eggs cooked
in any way with gluten free ingredients.
Butter, margarine, lard, oil, dripping.
All fresh, frozen, plain dried and tinned in water, plain crisps, instant mash,
Home made puddings using gluten free ingredients - dream topping, ambrosia,
Sauces, soups and stock cubes
Home made gluten free sauces and soups. Clear pickles, permitted stock cubes.
Preserves and sweets
Jam, marmalade, honey, syrup, treacle, molasses, sugar, glucose - most plain
and dark chocolate is suitable - also Mars Bar, Milky Way.
Tea, coffee, fruit juice, fruit squashes, fizzy drinks, Bovril, marmite, commercially
prepared beers, wines, spirits, Complan, Build-Up, Oxo, mineral waters.
Salt, pure pepper, herbs, vinegar, pure spices, essences, malt and malt extracts,
colourings, nuts, yeast, bicarbonate of soda, tartaric acid, home made baking
powder, peanut butter.
Foods to Avoid
Check list for ice cream, mousse, custard powder, blancmange, packet puddings
and imitation cream.
Sauces, soups and stock cu